my life · Uncategorized

Cairo Is Cool! πŸ˜Š

Hi There!

As you probably might know, I live in Cairo (aka the Capital City of Egypt). Because of this, I’ve been asked endless times to write a postΒ  describing how life is like around here. This is why I’m dedicating this post to all of you out there who are curious to know more about the Egyptian Culture!

Okay, so how do I start this? *thinking deeply*

Image result for curious gif
Section 1 – The Areas
Β Inside of Cairo, there are plenty of areas – I’ll highlight the main & common ones!
Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 11.40.01 PM.png
  • Heliopolis
  • Nasr City
  • New Cairo
  • Mokattam
  • Giza
  • Downtown
  • Dokki
  • 6th October City
  • Mohandessin / Zamalek
  • Maadi
  • El Rehab / El Shorouk/ Madinaty – they’re like compounds in an area all by themselves

I know the names probably don’t mean much to you since you have no idea how they’re like, but I’ve just stated them here so you would at least know them! Don’t say I didn’t tell you! πŸ™‚

Image result for okay gif
Section 2 – Places For Tourists
In every country, there are attractions that any foreign tourist must see & couldn’t just skip while they’re visiting. For example: The Eiffel Tower in Paris, The Big Ben in London, The Statue Of Liberty in America, The Sydney Harbour Bridge in Australia & the list goes on forever!
#1 I think everyone is at least familiar with Cairo’s Most Visited/Known Tourist Attraction…The Pyramids! They’re located in the Giza area & have been there for millions & millions of years! I won’t mention the history – since in my opinion it’s quite broing & never-ending.
I’ll just mention the fact that each pyramid has a name.The biggest ‘Khafrae’, the one in the middle ‘Khofu’, & the smallest one is ‘Mankawre’ – they are simply the names of the kings who built them!
Image result for pyramids of giza
#2 We also have The Egyptian Museum which is also located in the Giza area in a very well-known sqaure called “Al-Tahrir”. This is the place where the 25th January Revolution took place in 2011!
I went there once with my school – a long time ago. I think I was around 9 years old. I don’t remember much tbh, but it was very interesting & attention-grabbing…even though I don’t like history!
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 1.11.14 AM.png
This is an image of ‘Tahrir’ Square – you could see the Museum in the distance!
Image result for tahrir square

#3 Another great attraction you’d probably enjoy visiting is The Cairo Tower. It’s around 190m tall with 90 whooping floors! There is a restaurant at the top, where you can stuff your mouth as well as enjoy the breath-taking view! I’ve been there a couple of timed with my family & I remember how we stood at the very top with my hair flying all over my face because of how strong the wind was up there! Ahhh, happy times.

Image result for annoying wind and hair gif
Here it is in the morning & at night! I absolutely love the sky colour in the night image – it’s gorgeous! ❀️ It’s not a match for the Eiffel Tower or the Big Ben, but it’s the closest thing we can get.
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 1.30.42 AM.png
#4 The Cairo Citadel! It was built at the end of the 19th Century – but has obviously been renovated many times. There is a museum inside, which apparently has many artefacts & other historical objects.
Related image
At the highest point of the courtyard in the Citadel is the Muhammed Ali Mosque – which was designed by a Turkish man who based his architecture plans on the Sultan Ahmed Mosque in Istanbul (Turkey)! As for answering any arising questions concerning “Who is Muhammed Ali”…he was one of the greatest rulers of Egypt in th 1800’s. It looks stunning at night! πŸ™‚
Image result for cairo citadel today
Okay, it’s time to confess. I’ve actually never been to either the Citadel or the Mosque, for plainly no reason at all.
Image result for confess gif
I’ve seen it loads of times while sitting in the car, daydreaming out of the window, but never went inside.
alone-car-day-girl-Favim.com-2301978.gif
All these facts were using the internet & my parents who went there before. I actually want to go & I think I’ll probably beg my parents next summer. It sounds fascinating!
#5 I’m saving the best (in my opinion) till last! The one & only Khan El Khalili. I went there last July for the 1st time & I REALLY enjoyed it there!If you truly want to explore the Egyptian culture, then this is the perfect place to do so.
Image result for khan el khalili gif
Let me first explain what it actually is. It’s actually a major bazaar (‘souk’) inΒ  Islamic Cairo -which FYI is located in the “Downtown” part of the city.
We barely every call it downtown…we actually call it “West El Balad”, which if you actually translate means ‘the center of Cairo’. Yes, I know you’re probably wondering/puzzled. When we say ‘west’ in Arabic, it means center or middle. Yes, IΒ  have to agree, it’s weird & confusing.
Image result for say what gif
It’s like an old arabian bazaar full of endless stalls & narrow streets where you can buy souvenirs, great arabian-like accessories (I bought a heap of those), belly dancing costumes, traditional clothes, spices…almost anything & everything. Another great benefit is how cheap these things can be, compared to the superior shops we find in the malls that love to tear out our wallets.
Related image
There are also street cafΓ©s which provide traditional & well-know Egyptian dishes – which we’ll cover in just a bit.
Related image
So, if you’re looking for a real taste of what the Egyptian culture really is…then this is frankly the most perfect & ideal place.The buzz & energy, the people, the shops, everything!Β  I’m trying hard here not to sell, but I’m finding it quite difficult. I’m trying to sound down-to-earth & very casual. Am I doing a good job till now? 😊
Section 3 – Entertainment
Cairo is just like any other city on the Planet. We have malls, cinemas, restaurants & cafΓ©s, supermarkets & hypermarkets, fast food drive thru’s, kitkats & nutella.
*abruptly stops with fingers hanging over keyboard*
Why am I mentioning food in the entertainment section?
*now trying to focus & stop daydreaming about a delicious chicken sandwich from McDonalds*
Image result for focus gif
Β Okay, please don’t mind the last section…I’m back to reality now. Lets Start!
Cairo Festival City Mall – my FAV mall & 1 of the best places to hang out in Cairo. Also, it’s the ideal spot if you’re a shopaholic like me. It is located in New Cairo. There is Debenhams, Bershka, Stradivarius, Zara, Topshop, Aerocrombie, Tommy Hilfiger, H&M, American Eagle, Oysho, Tally Weijl, Victoria’s Secret, Marks & Spencer, and loads more! There’s also an outdoor “Villiage” where there is a great selection of restaurants, plus a dancing fountain so you can eat & watch. There’s also a cinema & Carrefour – so as you can see, it’s a pretty well-rounded mall.
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 11.57.26 AM.png
City Stars Mall – my 2nd most favourite mall & one that is very similar to CFCM. It has almsot the same exact shops (minus Debenhams, Carrefour & Ikea). The major differences are that it’s located in Nasr City & has no villiage. The restaurants are scattered inside along with 2 food courts & 2 cinemas complexes!
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 12.24.46 PM.png
Β Point 90 Cinema/Mall – it used to be only a cinema…but it didn’t stay that way. There are few shops now (Bath & Body Works, Accessorize, H&M) as well as many restaurants & a fast-food court. It’s also located in New Cairo (along with CFCM)
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 12.30.34 PM.png
Porto Cairo – this is a place with a tremendously huge fountain surrounded by an arc of restaurants in the outdoors. There is what they call a mall inside too, but there isn’t that many shops. It’s a great place if you want to sit with your firends/family, eat, talk & watch the fountain dance along to popular songs!
Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 12.44.22 PM.png
Downtown Katameya – it’s almost like Porto Cairo but without a fountain. There are loads of restaurants & cafΓ©s suitable for having a snack, having lunch/dinner, having a drink, anything really!
Β Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 12.51.05 PM.png
Β Nile City – a magnificent boat in the Nile River (Zamaek area) which has many restaurants, where you can enjoy watching the Nile as well as a delicious meal!
7477901e-dbf3-4ed0-b6b6-a86f1997cbfa.jpg
Section 4 – Traditional Food
Β As much as I want to, we won’t be talking about pizzas & burgers or kitkats & nutella. But, I’ll be telling you the most famous/common food we eat at home here in Cairo!
Mulukhiyah – it’s simply leaves of a Corchorus Olitorius (a plant). We usually eat it with rice & chicken.
mol.jpg
Koshary – it’s simply rice, macaroni, lentils, topped with red tomato sauce! It’s one of the most delicious things I’ve ever tasted! I prefer it to be homemade, since I didn’t really like it when I ate it at a restaurant.
f6904083-006b-4695-8f5f-ac56c8fc3251.png
Foul & Taamia – its the traditional egyptian breakfast & simply no words can describe how lovely it is without you tasting it yourself.
CSCGsxjWsAApA9X.jpg
Basbousa- this is the deesert. It is our traditional sweet cake covered with sugary syrup. Think of the sweetest thing you’ve ever tasted & multiply by a 1000!
basboosa1.jpg
There are many many others, but these are the most famous & traditional ones you should probably know. I’m getting so hungry right now- *stomach rumbling in agreement*
Section 5 – Arabic Language
Β Arabic isn’t hard…but it isn’t easy also. It is the language we use almost everyday, closely followed by English. Let me teach you some basics!
  • My Name Is ‘…..’ = Ana Esmy ‘….’
  • How are you? (for masculine) = Ezayak / Aamel eh?
  • How are you? (for feminine) = Ezayek / Aaamla eh?
  • Thankyou = Shokran
  • Hello = Ahlan Wa Sahlan
  • Number 1 = Wahed
  • Number 2 = Etneen
  • Number 3 = Talata
  • Mother = Omy / Mami
  • Father= Aby / Papi
  • Sister = Okhty
  • Brother= Akhoya
  • DaughterΒ  = Benty
  • Son = Ebny
  • Grandma = Teta
  • Grandpa = Gedo
  • Family = Eila
  • Holiday = Agaza
  • I would like (masculine) = Ana Aayez
  • I would like (feminine) = Ana Aayza
  • Yes = Aywa
  • No = Lah
Related image
Section 6 – The Life, The Culture, The People

Egyptian people are known to be light-hearted, kind & full of jokes, which hands-down…I have to agree is true.

Life around here is like any other. Children go to school, play with toys or on their iPads, hangout with the family, watch cartoons & sleep. Teenagers study, go to school, hang out with their friends/family, shop, watch TV & sleep. Adults work, party, hang out, go to the cinema, shop, watch TV & sleep. Yeah, the cycle always ends u with watching something & sleeping! πŸ™‚

We deal with happy times as well as stress, jealousy & emotional breakdowns. But hey, that’s what we call normal, right?

Image result for life is normal gif

With the advancement & widespread of modern technology…people have become addicted & attached to their phones & laptops. I think everyone in the world has become like that.

We have a few couple of political & economic problems every now & then, but what can we do? C’est La Vie – This Is Life.

For some reason, the prices of everything (food, petrol, clothes,school fees) is getting quadripled & lots of people can’t afford it anymore. Not everyone is poor here & not everyone is rich. Most of us are like upper middle-class, but still.

As I look around me, I can see that people are growing tired. We joke about it on Facebook & Instagram, but deep inside I think our hearts are not into it. We also have a few safety issues that keep arising every few months & things aren’t pretty. Things changed & are still changing –Β  I hope it gets better.

Image result for everything is good gif

Anyway, sorry for that sad bit – I was just sharing my feelings here. Not everything is dandy, you know. πŸ™‚

The weather here is always very hot in the Summer, good in Autumn, very very cold in Winter (wind & rain), dusty but good in Spring.

Weather Fact #1: It has barely/never rained in the Summer in Egypt.

Weather Fact #2: It barely/never snowed during the Winter in Egypt.

Image result for oh my god gif
One very improtant thing you should also know about Cairo is simply, TRAFFIC JAMS. The vast amount of hours wasted sitting in the car waiting for traffic to clear out would break all records in all countries. Especially on Thursdays & in the weekend (Friday & Saturday).
Image result for sitting in traffic gif
It doesn’t help that me & my family aren’t the best when it comes to punctuality. We’d have an appointment at 7pm in a completely different area, then we leave the house & get into the car at 6:59pm. Add traffic to the story & we’re more than an hour late. >facepalm<
Image result for sitting in traffic gif
But other than that, I think we could say that life is ok! πŸ‘
End Of Sections
Β I want to hear from you now! What do you think of Cairo? Is it cool?
IMG_4591.jpg
^Image Taken By Me…Do you like it?^
I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I had fun writing about the city I grew up in & currently live in! ❀️
Comment any thoughts or questions you have about Cairo & I’ll make sure to answer them!
Image result for what do you think gif
Going to practice doing some maths now – wish me luck with x and y! πŸ™‚
Bye for Now! ❀️
Smiling Dreamer xoxo

 

108 thoughts on “Cairo Is Cool! πŸ˜Š

  1. I thought this was a great post. I know very little about Cairo but feel like you gave a really good run down. The thing I really love about your post is that while I am in the States and you are in Eygpt we all deal with pretty much the same stuff, dealing with traffic, going shopping and living life. Even half a world away we are the same. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thankyou so much! ❀️ I’m glad you know more about Cairo now! Life is really weird & surprising – I think everywhere…people are dealing with the same issues, even though the cultures differ. It’s contrasting yet the same, somehow. I’ve never been to the USA, but it’s on my “Places To Travel To” list – I really want to go! It’s My Pleasure & Thanks Again for your kind words! Glad you liked the post! πŸ™‚ ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post!! I loved how you explained each section very carefully, its great! I can actually read a little bit of Arabic, but I have no idea how to say stuff in Arabic. Overall, great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! ❀️ Words cannot express how happy I am that you liked it! It’s cool that you can read some arabic – just learn to say the basics & anyone would think you’re a pro! πŸ˜‚ Personally, I’m fluent in english & arabic – but I know a little bit of french. Thanks again – Glad you think it’s greatπŸ˜ŠπŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you think Cairo’s amazing! 😊 Thankyou for nominating me – this means the world to me! ❀️ I can do it – no problem, but not today since I’m real busy! Thanks Again- you’re the best! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m delighted that you like my page! Tbh I can’t wait to write more! πŸ™‚ I’m sure 1 day the opportunity will come – you’ll visit Egypt & put all my tips to good use! Thankyou for your kind words – they made my day! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much – I’m delighted & ecstatic that you enjoyed reading it! 😊 Tbh…I felt great & very enthusiastic while writing this post! I simply can’t express the buzz of sharing my world with everyone here! πŸ™‚ Who knows? Maybe the opportunity will come 1 day & you’ll visit Cairo – then you’ll be able to try our delicious sugary cake! Can’t deny how yummy it is πŸ˜‚ Sorry if I made you hungry – I can’t help it! Thanks Again! ❀️❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww I love that you’re so enthusiastic about your home! You certainly should be 😊 you’ve done a great job and made it sound very inviting…your excitement definitely came through! I’d absolutely love to go there someday (and not just for the cake πŸ˜‚) xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Happy to know that food isn’t the only reason you want to comeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ It makes me happy to hear that my excitement showed through my post! I thought about how I want it to be funny, informative & welcoming, then made it happen. I guess I did a job well-done! These days I’ve been thinking ‘How was I not blogging before?’ 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It definitely showed through 😊 you did an excellent job…you should definitely consider doing more travel / tour guide type posts 😊 haha I know, right? I feel the same! My brain views everything as potential blog posts now!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thanks!❀️ I think I’ll take your advice & do more travel guide posts. I went to BCN last August & spent 15 days there – I think I know it like my ABC’s! Same here, I actually started writing in this mini notebook all my future post ideas so I wouldn’t forget! πŸ˜‚ Thanks again for the tip! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy that you think it’s interesting! I love to read about other cultures too, but I never thought I’d enjoy writing about it as well! πŸ™‚ I’m sure the opportunity will come & you’ll visit 1 day – you’ll enjoy it! ❀️

      Like

      1. Agree 100% No, unfortunately I haven’t been to the UK, but it’s on my “Places To Travel To” list – I really want to go! I heard so much about it & saw plenty of photos to the extent that I think the trip is already planned in my head! I hope I go there next Summer! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love reading about the cities that other bloggers live in all over the world! It’s kind of inspired me to write a post like this for where I live… but I’m lazy πŸ˜‚ (I probably will get around to it before school starts, and when I do I will credit you!) Cairo sounds so interesting! I would love to visit one day πŸ™‚ xx
    (also yay you mentioned the Sydney Harbour Bridge – I live in Sydney hehe)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love reading about different cities too! I’m happy that I inspired you! πŸ™‚ Thankyou for your kind words & for being considerate enough to credit me! I’m sure one day the opportunity will come & you’ll visit Cairo – you’ll love it! I’ve actually never been to Sydney, but I really want to go! It’s on my “Places To Travel List”! I’ll be waiting for that Sydney post, since I would love to more about where you live! Thanks Again! ❀️❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha the post will not disappoint ☺️ As to you too – I know that one day you’ll come visit Sydney! Even as a local I find new things I love about the city everyday πŸ™‚ and you’re most welcome! Xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. You did well..
    And I sense your boredom and lack of enthusiasm about much of your history that we foreigners find so appealing..
    especially if we are of the Christian faith.. and would be so fascinated with the place we grow up learning about…

    But you have been there your whole life.. and you can’t see the beauty and the paradise that you live in and is surrounded by…

    But good 😊 job at helping us learn a little about your home…
    I truly enjoy 😊 your pictures…. sceneries….. and tales…
    most of all your humorous attitude…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! I like the history, and I certaintly know it, but I’m just not a fan tbh! πŸ˜‚ I can see the beauty, of course I can – it’s just that when you get used to a place you sometimes stop appreciating! Glad I helped you learn more about Cairo & delighted that you liked it & enjoyed it! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou for your kind words! I’m delighted that you like it! ❀️ That was my aim – to grab your attention & take you inside the culture! πŸ™‚ Hahaha – I don’t know why, but lots of people (not just you) think that Cairo is old-style & classic. I think it used to be like that – before technology took over the world! πŸ˜‚Thanks Again! ❀️

      Like

  5. F this is such an awesome post! Honestly… I was really surprised to see all the malls and buildings etc. but that’s just my mind. When I hear Egypt.. I think desert and pyramids. I never really thought about it in a modern way.. until now, that is.

    After reading your post, I NOW want to visit Cairo so much! It looks like such a beautiful place.. and I love the structures of the buildings.

    I also learned so much from your post. I never knew pyramids had names. T_T This is so informational, educational.. and written in a personal, fun way! ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much for your sweet words! ❀️ I don’t know why, but lots of people (not just you) think that Egypt is all deserts, old-style & classic. I think it used to be like that – before technology took over the world! πŸ˜‚ I’m delighted that you want to visit Cairo after reading my post! I’m sure 1 day the opportunity will come & you’ll visit – you’ll love it! 😊 Once more, I’m very happy that you enjoyed & that I’ve taught you some new facts without being boring – that was my aim! πŸ™‚Thanks Again! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! I am delighted that you loved the post & that you’ve learnt more about Egypt! I’m sure 1 day the opportunity will come & you’ll visit Cairo – you’ll enjoy it here! I just followed you! πŸ™‚ Thanks Again for your sweet words! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is such an amazing post! I’ve always wanted to visit Cairo, but now I REALLY want to visit; I knew it was full of great history and architecture and food and events, but hearing about them from a Cairo native (as opposed to, like, travel blogs) makes it that much more interesting. (Though I’m sorry to hear things are getting harder and more dangerous; I hope things improve, and you and your family stay safe.) Thanks so much for sharing all this! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so so much for your kind & sweet words! πŸ™‚ I’m sure 1 day the opportunity will come & you’ll visit Cairo – you’ll love it! I’m really glad & happy that you liked the post & that I was able to interest you as well as be helpful. 😊 Yeah, I know what you mean – I’d prefer to listen (or read) a native talking about their city than travel websites.πŸ˜‰ Well, the economy & politics aren’t that good tbh, but I guess we’re coping.😏 Thanks for wishing that me & my fmily are safe – that’s so kind & considerate of you! πŸ˜ŠπŸ™‚ I’m delighted that you love it! Thanks Again! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Amazing post! So many photos haha. I usually don’t want to go to different countries because I get very plane sick and puke everywhere, but your post just made me want to go to Egypt haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much!😊 I like to include photos so people can see what I’m talking about! Oh, I’m sorry to hear that. I’m glad that you like the post & that you want to come to Egypt – I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! πŸ™‚ 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! I’m sure 1 day the opportunity will come & you’ll be able to visit Egypt! I’m happy that my post was what inspired your wish! Thankyou – GIFs are amazing – I love them so much, they make the post much more enjoyable! Thanks Again for the motivation & generosity – I will keep writing! 😍😊❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love reading your blog! Are you sure you’re a teenager? – your posts are so descriptive and well written! I learned so much about Cairo. I would love to visit with my family one day. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! 😊 Hahaha πŸ˜‚- yeah I’m a teenager (14 turning 15 next March) I have a passion for writing since I was very young, which is probably why I can be very descriptive & detailed! ❀️ I’m pleased that you’ve learned about Cairo through my post & I’m sure the opportunity will come 1 day & that you’ll visit! It’s My Pleasure & Thanks Again For Your Wonderful Comment! πŸ˜πŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I think the whole world loves Egypt.
    We all come from an ancient civilization – I am Australian, not indigenous, but I am still Australian.
    But we all emanate from another world. & I love Egypt too.

    Like

  10. I loved this post! Im an egyptian living in ireland and this made me miss Egypt so much. Especially since recognising all the places and the food there is amazing! Great Post! Cant wait to go back this summer πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou for your kind words! It’s great to meet another egyptian here on WordPress! I have to agree – the food & places here are awesome! πŸ‘I’m sure you’re very excited to return back to your home country next summer! 😁 Thanks Again! ❀❀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I am an Egyptian and I couldn’t have introduced Egypt better than that. I know you’re Egyptian but do you live in Egypt? Your English is just so good and fluent. Also, I absolutely love your use of GIFs, makes the post so funny! May Allah bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww – thankyou so so much for your sweet words! 😍 Yes, I live in Egypt!πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡¬ It makes me so proud that you think my english is fluent! 😊 I love using GIFs – it’s like my passion – I have to agree…they do make posts more enjoyable & funny! πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜ May Allah bless you too! ❀ Thank you 7abibty! πŸ˜˜πŸ’–πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

