Collabs · humour · my life

Expectations VS Reality Collab πŸ‘―

Hi There! 😍

Welcome to the 1st post of July! Can you believe we’re mid-way through 2017?! Wow! Time is ticking & the days are passing by, faster than I gobble up my french fries! Tip: Make the most of each day & try to do something productive everyday! πŸ˜‰

Today I present to you a more-than-fab collab with Sareena from TheAllOfItBlog! Please do check out her blog – she’s brilliant and her blog is wonderful! πŸ‘


This collab is a one-of-a-kind! As you’ve probably read the Blog Post Title – I’m sure you’re wondering what exactly does it mean! Me and Sareena decided to do a collab where we celebrate our different nationalities. Our collab is all about the various misconceptions that float around our own countries! I’m doing the Egyptian Version (’cause I’m Egyptian) And She’s doing the British Version (’cause she’s British)! (that sounded so lame, right?) #obvious  Anyway, I think this intro is getting way too long & wordy for my taste! So Let’s Start! *rubs hands together excitedly*


Expectation: The second I say Egypt or Cairo…everyone immediately starts imagining the Pyramids & think that we live in the deserts or just something in the lines of this:-

Reality: I think that’s okay tbh – I’m used to it. Of course, our pyramids is one of the best tourist attractions we have & it is 1 of the Seven Wonders Of The World but you’ve got to know that Cairo/Egypt is more than just the pyramids. There are many things to do in Egypt, rather than just visiting the Pyramids. We have Bazaars, Beaches, The River Nile, Malls, Endless Streets Full Of Shops & Restaurants & Entertainment! Plus there’s our exquisite culture to soak in! Yes, it’s true that around 80% of Egypt is sand & deserts, but we live in that other 20% #math #skills Besides, our streets look nothing like the deserts – they look more like this:-

Expectation: Egyptians can only speak Arabic + Egyptians can speak/write hieroglyphics.

Reality: So. Not. True. First of all, LOADS of Egyptians can fluently speak English, French, German, Spanish, Italian….whatever the language, along with Arabic. The second point that needs serious clearing…is that we do not speak to each other or write in hieroglyphics. That was only in Ancient Egypt – like a long long looooonnng time ago.

Expectation: Our transportation involves Camels.


Reality: Umm – sorry to disappoint you but….No. We’re normal Humans & we’re quite advanced enough to use normal cars, motorcycles, buses and metros. *sorry for the slight sarcastic tone to my voice* Again, that only happened during the really Ancient Times. Of course, if you’re at the Pyranids or a desert, Camels are the main transportation method. I repeat – we do not ride Camels! πŸͺ

Expectation: Here in Egypt, we have no idea about what is going on in the rest of the world. In other words, we’re clueless.


Reality: I wonder why some people tend to think so. We have Internet Access, We have TV’s, We have Technology…..so why do people think so? #dunno We aren’t only limited to what’s happening within our boundaries – I don’t think anyone anywhere is. For e.g. you might be living in the UK, but you’ve watched the….Victoria Secret Fashion Show (which FYI was in Paris) & know all about it! Or you live in Dubai, but you’ve watched/know about Ariana Grande’s One Love Manchester Concert! It’s the same with Egypt, believe me it is. Whether we’re talking about TV shows (yes we have Disney Channel, VH1, MTV, FOX, and Fashion TV – no worries) or whether we’re talking about movies, or events taking place anywhere. All it needs is good ‘ol internet access & we’re all set! *facepalm* (I forgot to pay the WiFi fee for this month)

Expectation: We wear Bedouin/Arabian clothes.


Reality: Trust me. I can tell you that this is 100% rumors. We buy clothes from worldwide shops in malls. Don’t believe me? Do you think *takes deep breath* “Zara, Stradivarius, Pull & Bear, Bershka, H&M, Debenhams, American Eagle, Aeropostale, Guess, Michael Kors, Ted Baker, Nike, Adidas, LC Waikiki, Hamleys, Marks & Spencer, Tommy Hilfiger, Ralph Lauren, Topshop, Mango,….” applies to the terms “arabian clothes”? I think not. I could go on till tomorrow, with the list of (awesome) shops we have here, but I think that’s enough for now! Sadly though, there are a few shops & brands that we don’t have, like C&A or Sephora…but I can live. *sigh*  So, as you can see, the majority in Egypt like to wear jeans, T-Shirts, jumpsuits, dresses, tops with your choice of Nike Airs, Adidas Superstars, or the Classic Converse (it’s hard to choose between those shoes, right – which is your fav?)


Expectation: All Egyptian Women can belly dance.

Reality: *shaking head furiously* Not really. A few can, and lots of us can’t, and some fall in-between. But seriously, not all our dancing involves the oriental/belly dancing style. It depends on the music you’re listening to. I know for a fact that I like listening to English music, so I tend to like normal international dancing rather than the Arabian style.

Expectation: Egyptians only eat Oriental food.

Reality: EX-cuse Me?! Who invents this stuff? Yes, we have a different variety of Orinetal food that we do like to eat (e.g. Molokheya, Koshari, Basbousa, Falafel, Fattah, etc. – that’s how we say them in Arabic btw), but our diets are definitely not limited to these. Along with our local favourites, we also eat pastas,pizzas, french fries, risottos, burgers, steaks, Caesar salads, brownies, tarts, croissants, KitKats (I had to mention them) and…OK you get the picture now. *stomach rumbles & grumbles* #hungry


That brings you to the end of this lovely post! I hope I’ve set straight all the misconceptions people had about Egypt! 

Please note that I’ve been talking about me & others in Egypt who are in the same class/standard. What I mean to say is that there are many living standards in Egypt (duh – like any Country), and that there are poor people out there that exist, who only talk arabic, have no internet, and who wear arabian styled clothes. I felt like I had to say this, just to make sure that everyone understands! 😊

Don’t forget to check out Sareena’s post where she’ll be talking about the misconceptions people have about the Brits! 

Hope you had fun reading this! Did you enjoy the post? Let me know what you’re thinking in the comments below! πŸ˜‰

Thanks For Reading! ❀️

unnamed2

 

46 thoughts on “Expectations VS Reality Collab πŸ‘―

    1. Thankyou! 😍 I’m glad you’ve learnt a bit through my post! Yess – I don’t know where they get these misconceptions from tbh…some of them can be quite funny! I agree! πŸ˜‚ Thanks for reading & commenting Lovely! 😊❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am so enlightened by this post. So happy to have an Egyptian friend, I am also right the rest of them, really thought Egypt is just 90% desert with pyramids all over. This is so beautiful πŸ’–. I’m from South Africa and all people think South Africa looks like is vacant land, the Big 5 (which I have honestly never seen before) and traditional attire. It’s so funny how we think of other countries depending on what we were taught in history class and TV😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww – thankyou so much! ❀️ That’s so sweet of you! I’m delighted to have such a lovely & kind-hearted South African friend like you! 😊 Yessss – I totally agree! Everyone seems to be judging other countries depending on History & the Ancient Times – they don’t realise we’ve modernised! It can be so hilarious! πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ Thankyou for reading & taking the time to comment! It means a lot to me! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Your comment seriously made me laugh! I totally agree with everything you’ve said! πŸ™ˆ Sometimes I feel like saying: “Hello, I swear I’m on the same planet as you! I’m normal..don’t worry!” πŸ˜‚ Thankyou so much & it delights me that you enjoyed the post! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was SUCH a fun post to read! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you did a fantastic job clearing up those expectations and rumors! Unfortunately, I do picture Egypt as being pyramids LOL but only because I’m a bit obsessed with ancient Egypt; I know that it is completely modernized now!! You’re the second person I’ve known from Egypt, which is cool πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKYOU so much! ❀️❀️ Hahaha – it’s OK! You’re not the only one! πŸ˜‚ Loads of people are hooked up with the idea of Ancient Egypt, which is why they visualize Egypt as if it’s still in the Ancient Times! I don’t know why though! πŸ™ˆ Maybe it has something to do with the Pharohs & Cleopatra? πŸ€”πŸ˜‚ Aww – that’s awesome! I’m glad that we’re blogging friends! ❀️😊

      Like

  3. Such a great post! This reminds me again of the time I mentioned the One Love Manchester Concert to you as if you didn’t know of it – of course I didn’t think you were clueless, just forgot about it being televised worldwide. I’m sorry once again! I loved Egypt when I visited 7 years ago and hope to come again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou Lovely! ❀️ I know I know – you don’t need to explain yourself! Don’t be sorry! It’s totally OK! You’re definitely not the only one! A Brit Friend of mine thought I didn’t know about the Victoria Secret Fashion Show, when I actually watched the whole thing! I’m used to it & I honestly don’t mind! Please don’t apologize again! 😊😊 Oooh! I definitely hope you get the chance to come here again! 😍😍

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YESSSS. This collab is awesome! I live in Texas, which has many stereotypes as well, so I completely relate to your struggles! Though I am guilty of imagining Egypt as desert and pyramids. πŸ˜‚

    Some things people think up is CRAZY! I think everyone imagines Ancient Egypt as Modern Egypt… which is so not true. Pretty much all countries have buildings and cars SOMEWHERE!

    I really loved reading more about Egypt. (I knew you were Egyptian but I didn’t know you LIVED in Egypt!) I’ll be sure to check out Sareena’s post, because I want to live England but am sure to have been guilty of some expectations! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKYOU SO MUCH! ❀️❀️

      I’m delighted that you can relate! Hahaha – don’t be guilty! It’s OK, you’re definitely not the only one to think so! πŸ˜‚

      IKR?! I seriously have NO IDEA where and how they come up with these thoughts! It’s so hilarious sometimes! YESSSSS – everyone still thinks that we’re Egypt that they’ve learnt in History Class! I don’t know why everyone is so obsessed with Ancient Egypt! Something to do with the Pharohs & Cleopatra, perhaps? πŸ™ˆ Sometimes I feel like saying: “I’m on the SAME planet!” πŸŒŽπŸ˜‚

      Awwww – you’re so sweet! I’m really happy you loved my post! It means the world to me, because I’m a big fan of your blog! 😍😍 Oooh! Maybe I should make that clear in my blog’s about page “I’m An Egyptian Teenage Blogger Who Lives In Egypt” – how does that sound? 😊

      I’m you’ll enjoy Sareena’s post as well! 😊As I said, don’t be guilty! Misconceptions & Rumors Are Everywhere Apparently! πŸ˜‚

      Thankyou so much for reading & commenting! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pharaohs and Cleopatra are cool — but they’re not in the same time period of you??? I feel like people think modern Egypt is Egypt centuries ago. XD

        And haha, yes! “I’m an Egyptian teenage blogger who lives in Egypt” sounds great! 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This post was fun to learn about Egypt, I never thought of Egypt as only sand and desert but I know people who do.
    My parents are originally from Africa, so everyone just makes the country out to be poor and horrible, which isn’t how it should be seen. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! ❀️❀️ I’m glad you think so! 😊 Hahaha – it’s OK! You’re definitely not the only one! Besides, I’m used to it! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

      Like

  6. Oh my goddddd I loved that so much ❀️ it was amazing collating and we really are the dream team πŸ˜‚ I loved the camel expectation πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­ great job

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I understand the struggles! I live in Switzerland and everyone thinks that we can all yodel and run around with cows in the Alpes…which is not exactly what we doπŸ˜‚ but I do admit the cheese here is quite good…XD xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha – yesss! πŸ˜‚ People have misconceptions for every Country in the World! πŸŒŽπŸ™ˆ The hilarious thing is that everyone seems to be judging based on what they’ve learnt in History Class! πŸ˜‚ Ooooh – I agree! I LOVE Switzerland Cheese! It just tastes so delish! *stomach grumbles greedily in agreement* πŸ˜ŠπŸ§€ Thankyou so much for reading & commenting! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! ❀️❀️ It delights me that you found my post enjoyable & funny! 😊😊 Your comment means a lot to me! 😍 Btw I love your blogging style! β€οΈπŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

