Discussion · Lifestyle · Ramblings, Rants And Updates · Tips & Advice

Money Can’t Buy Happiness?πŸ€‘

Hiii Blogosphere! I’ve MISSED YOU ALL! 😍

Cartons. Bags. Sorting. Packing. Cello-tape. Paper Cuts? Ouch! You might remember fron my Life Rambling & Updates Post or probably figured out that I’m still in my “Moving Houses Process”, which is keeping me real busy *sad face* I’ve also been hooked up in reading this book (more details on it in another post soon), but it’s time for a new post! *cheers*


YES I’m currently aware that I’m about to talk about a VERY controversial topic, where various opinions exist – but I’m willing to take the risk because a) I’ve been wanting to write this post for AGES and b) I want to publicly address the topic with my fellow readers (that’s you btw)!


Money (like technology nowadays) takes a HUGE part of our lives! No one can deny that it’s incredibly important and that we need it to live. However (unfortunately), a couple of people can come completely obsessed with it, and things get a bit too much. Some start to get engrossed with spending as little as possible to the extent that they become penny-pinching ungenerous monsters and their lives become a misery. Others fancy the idea of spending too much on just about anything that things become kind of tacky & messy. Of course, none of these examples are the ideal ones. Tip: Never spend too much and never save too much. The key is to keep a fair balance! *wink wink*

I’m not here to discuss the types of people when it comes to money, though (even if it might have seemed like it)! It’s just that I feel as if money is beingΒ very controlling of our lives. Again, I understand that it’s crucial and determines our future & the quality of our lives..But everyone needs to realize, know and learn that money isn’t everything. It definitely can’t buy everything.Β 

For example, one of the main reasons people work is to earn money (which I have no problem and completely agree with), but they tend to forget everything else that comes with it. Friends & Relations, Experience, Expertise, Passion, Satisfaction. They’re equally important, aren’t they?

There are many many many things in life that money can’t buy, whatever the amount & whatever the price. Examples include (but aren’t limited to):

  • Love
  • Forgiveness
  • Health
  • Talent
  • Trust
  • Time
  • Peace & Justice
  • Manners
  • True Friends
  • Patience
  • Respect
  • Integrity
  • Common Sense
  • Luck
  • Natural Beauty

As you can see, there are various things that money has no power in. However there’s one (really really vital) thing that isn’t included in the list above, which the majority tend to argue about (including me). Happiness. Loads of people believe that money can’t buy happiness, which is true-ish. I mean, you can’t go into a store and say “I’d like a dozen of happiness, please.” – No, you can’t (even though sometimes we wish that was the case). To all these people, I hold my hand & say “STOP THERE” 🀚 Why? Because I an truly & utterly convinced that even though money can’t buy everything…it CAN (kind of) buy happiness. *dodges the rotten tomatoes being thrown my way*

Please don’t start judging & Please don’t stop reading! I am determined to show & Β explain to you using real-life scenarios why money can (kind of) buy happiness.

Scenario 1: You use money to book yourself a ticket & hotel in a Country you’ve never visited –> You get the chance to explore & discover –> You make loads of cool memories –> You’re happy!

Scenario 2: *Imagine you’re a bookworm* You use money to buy yourself some books –> You gain wisdom, indulge into the books, enjoy reading them –> You’re happy!

Scenario 3: *You’re a blogger – obviously* You use money to pay for Wifi/4G –> You get Internet Access –> You’re able to write posts, read other blogposts, gain likes & comments –> You’re happy!

Scenario 4: *Imagine you’re a shopaholic or you’re someone who likes fashion* You use money to buy a dress/pair of jeans/sneakers/handbag –> You look fabulous with your new fashion item –> Your spirits rise & confidence increases –> You’re happy!

Scenario 5: You use money to buy food –> You savor each delicious bite & enjoy yourself –> You’re happy!

Do you see a pattern here? Can you see how (sometimes) money can lead to happiness?

But Wait. Does that mean that our happiness is completely dependent on money? Should we use the formula: Money=Happiness? NO and NO. I did not say that!

Our happiness is dependent on many factors in life. Money is just a factor (Note: I said “a” not “the only”) that can sometimes lead to happiness, but that doesn’t mean there can’t be other things. Friends, Love, Self-Confidence, Peace, Health and other things money can’t buy, also contribute to our happiness!

To avoid confusion…

In A Nutshell: Money isn’t everything. Money can’t buy everything. Money CAN sometimes lead to our happiness, but it’s not the only element that can make us happy!


What do you think of this post? Do you agree? What are your thoughts? Did you enjoy it? Let me know!

Thanks for reading! 😊

45 thoughts on “Money Can’t Buy Happiness?πŸ€‘

  1. Great post. Definitely a new perspective and I have never thought about it that way before. I agree with you in saying money can’t buy happiness but can lead to happiness. Is that what you were saying??
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Money can LEAD to happiness but can’t BUY happiness. Yes, money can buy you things that make you happy. But money is not forever and happiness is. Your Scenarios were very accurate but imagine you kept on buying your favourite foods and tech. You’d keep wanting more and more and your room would clutter and then…You’re not happy. It happens. Money can buy happiness…TO A CERTAIN LIMIT.

    It honestly depends on what you THINK happiness is? I mean me being happy is having fun with family and friends, going somewhere on a sunny day. So I say I wnated to go to a theme park and it cost money. Sure, I’ll buy the ticket and go… THERE money has brought me happines right?

    Wrong.

    I would be happy if my friends came with me, if the weather was nice, if the travelling was quick, if i’m feeling in a good mood. Money is NOT THE KEY to happiness.

    As I said before? What do YOU think happiness is? Say if you lived in a less-privileged country…Books are honestly not on your definition of happiness. Living with your family peacefully might be YOUR idea of happiness.

    Sometimes for us to be happy we have to buy things using money I think the point of that saying is to say that’s not what is going to actually bring you happiness.

    So…my answer. NOTHING can ‘buy’ you happiness. Happiness is feeling and you can feel happy and sad at the same time. Some things can trigger happiness but not buy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES – that’s exactly what I’m saying! It can’t buy it, but it can sometimes lead to it! 😊

      I definitely agree with you about what you’re saying about how there’s a limit to it. Very True! πŸ‘

      Of course money isn’t the key to happiness – I can never deny this! I only said it’s a factor, but it definitely isn’t the only element that makes us happy.

      Happiness comes from within…It’s a choice. Money alone can never make us completely happy. It’s a combination of many other things along with money! It totally depends from one person to the other. The factors that make us happy are different for everyone! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading & taking the time to comment! πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ

      Like

  3. Great post!
    Money can buy you some things, but you always have to remember that to be able to receive that money, you are very blessed.
    Money cannot buy happiness, there are so many other things, like family, that can bring a smile upon your face, that will make you happy besides paper money. Money can help you survive, but you should never consider it as your only happiness, the one thing that can make you smile, there’s so much more things in this world. 😊
    Sorry for the ramble, but I loved this post!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! ❀️
      Yes! Money can’t buy happiness, it can only lead to it sometimes! It’s not the only element – it comes with a combination of many other things! So it definitely isn’t the only factor… πŸ™‚
      YAY! I’m so happy you love the post! 😍 Don’t apologize, I don’t mind at all! πŸ˜ŠπŸ™ˆ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I DEFINITELY AGREEEEEEE!! Even though money can’t buy happiness it can buy things to make you happy!! Money won’t always make us happy of courseπŸ™ƒ but sometimes it’s nice when we know how to use it in satisfaction! Although there are some things that you have to earn yourself to be happy, or some things that you either have or you don’t (like what you mentioned in the post) great post! Missed reading your postsπŸ™ˆπŸ˜Š

    Liked by 2 people

    1. YAY! I’M SO GLAD YOU DO! πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ
      Exactly – Everything you said is totally true! πŸ‘ I’m delighted that you enjoyed! It means a LOT to me! ❀️❀️ Awww – that’s so sweet of you! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful post, girl!! πŸ’• I definitely agree that money CAN get you things that bring happiness, but much of that joy is so temporary. Once you finish reading books, then you need to buy more (unless you have lots of libraries you can visit), and once you come back from traveling, it won’t be too long before you want to leave again! Money affects people in different ways, as we all have varying things we love to buy and experience. But when used wisely, money can be (and get you) glorious things! πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKYOU SO MUCH! ❀️❀️
      Yesssss – the happiness that comes from money definitely has a limit! I definitely agree with you! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘
      Totally – it depends from 1 person to the other! We’re all different & our happiness factors vary according to our interests! 😍😍
      Thanks for reading & commenting, Sweetie! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  6. “I’d like a dozen of happiness, please” πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ lol. Money πŸ’° can buy chocolates. So it can kinda buy happiness. But if we’re going for the really philosophical angle, yeah money can’t buy happiness. True happiness can be achieved when we are happy with what we’ve got. But like you’ve said, money isn’t the only thing that can lead to happiness. Well written. You’ve managed to convey your thoughts brilliantly. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Yesss – Money=Chocolates=Happiness! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜œ

      TRUE! Theoretically, money can’t buy happiness – it can only sometimes lead to it! I agree…Happiness comes from within! Yup! There are always other factors along with money that contribute to our happiness! πŸ‘€πŸ™ˆ

      Awwww – thankyou so much! That’s so kind of you! I’m so so glad that you think I did a great job in writing this post! ❀️❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, I LOVE this post. I have a liiiiiiittle different of an opinion than yours, but it’s pretty similar! I basically believe that money can LEAD to happiness, but it can’t directly BUY it. Nor can you indirectly buy it, because happiness is not a thing to be bought but a thing to be gained. I so so agree that money can be a factor in happiness, but that’s not always the case! And of course, a person’s happiness depends on that person, so it’s hard to make a general opinion! Money is an important part of our lives, but we can’t let it take over the other significant parts of our lives. Love this post! πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKYOU SO MUCH! ❀️❀️❀️
      Yesss- your opinion is very similar (why do I feel like it’s the same tho?πŸ˜‚). Money can’t buy happiness, it can only lead to it sometimes! 😊 I like how you said that “Happiness can’t be bought, it can only be gained” – very well said! πŸ‘πŸ™ˆ Happiness factors are different for everyone, because it varies according to our interests! Money is definitely not the only element that makes us happy…it’s a combination of other things along with money (at times)! πŸ˜‰ Totally True! We can’t let money control us! πŸ™ˆ Awww – THANKYOU! I’m SO happy you love it! 😍😍

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Happiness can get you money, but money can’t get happiness is how I like to think of it.
    Congratulations also being one of the winners of It’sSimplyMeJasmine’s 200+ followers celebration post! πŸ™‚ 😊 πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes I write them on my iPhone (6) and sometimes I write them on my MacBook (Retina Display 13″)! 😊 Why are you asking tho? #curious πŸ€” Hahaha πŸ˜‚ – it’s ok! No worries!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I agree that it’s a debatable topic. I once read this article about how money and happiness correlate with one another. It said that buying experiences was better than buying objects. Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yessss – totally! πŸ˜‰ They definitely go together! I agree! 😊 I like how this is put together “Buying Experiences Is Better Than Buying Objects”! Very Well Said! 😍😍 Thankyou so much! I’m glad you think so! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Brilliant post! I agree that money can sometimes lead to happiness, if we didn’t have money then we couldn’t do the things that make us happy such as going on holiday, buying food, having the internet. So where’s the happiness if you’re hungry, thirsty, have no home, no clothes etc….It’s a great debate topic! X

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love this post! I agree to the fact that money can’t completely buy happiness but could possibly lead up to it. While reading this and the part where it says money can’t buy natural beauty. And I started thinking about plastic surgery and how many celebrity figures have had plastic surgery because of negative comments, thinking the negative comments would stop. However they were still criticised for being plastic. So therefore both ways they weren’t happy so I do have an understanding of where you came from with that, ahah x

    Like

  12. Very interesting thought provoking post! I personally think money is VERY important to have, I totally get why people say that money doesn’t equal happiness & it isn’t the end all be all but imagine not having money in todays world & you fall sick… you wouldn’t be able to afford the simplest healthcare! Therefore I think that money does give us health & happiness. 😊

    https://thetypicalbeautyblog.wordpress.com

    Like

  13. Aww.. that was a hilarious and more of a logical one !!
    I’d heard ot so many times.. but you guided the way to shut others since now I’ve many examples like that !!
    btw that quote in the pic – crying in porche was excellent LMAO πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Agreed! I have this friend who does have money (big house and all and I’m not trynna come off as envy lol) but she has family issues, and friend issues and sometimes gets really depressed. So not everything depends on money. There’s love and respect too. πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

